Day 53: No Love, No Meaning

“And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing” 1 Corinthians 13:3 NKJV.

⚫️⚫️⚫️

We often find ourselves in situations where we do things for others not for the goodwill of them but more for us to feel good and at times for the recognition. The arrogance in which we do things, whether during or after the good deed, is far from being a true reflection of the character of Christ. In life, it is either we do things out of our own abilities or through the enabling of the Holy Spirit. The latter, however can only occur when we have been made perfect in love. When this happens, we do not and cannot do things out of fear that if we do not do it we will get punished, instead we do things differently. By not conforming to the ways of the world, we are put in a position of doing things because spiritually we know it is the will of God. Indeed it there is no profit you can ever gain by gaining the recognition and esteem of the whole world, yet you prostitute your soul away to the desires of the flesh made to appear like the desires of God. Do things with and for love, that is the only way our actions are given purpose.

Prayer:

Father, help me to know better, to be made perfect in Your love that I may never do anything for my own selfish desires. Give me the strength to completely give myself over to You as I respond to Your call in my life. Amen

~365dbc~

Leave a Reply

